Practise What You Preach

I have a question for all the indie authors out there who are now publishing their own work.

Do you read eBooks?

I’m hoping the answer you gave to that question is yes, because if you don’t, how are you ever going to know what works best on an eBook platform?

I have to say that back when eBooks were first mooted, I was one of those who said ‘No! Never!’ Then, one day, on a whim, I downloaded the Kindle App. I wasn’t particularly thinking about buying any books. I simply wanted to see what all the fuss was about.

After a few weeks of bumbling around with free public domain books and suchlike, I actually found that I quite liked being able to increase the text size to something that was more comfortable to read and that using my cursor keys to turn the page wasn’t nearly as annoying as I thought it would be.

It wasn’t long before I was so used to the ease of purchasing an eBook that unless it was a reference book (which aren’t so easy to navigate on screen), I only ever downloaded eBooks. Now, I even have a Kindle device which is so light compared to a book that I hardly know I’m carrying it.

All that naysaying had disappeared – I was hooked.

But my addiction to eReading isn’t really the point of this post. What I have learned from it is.

I now know many of the pitfalls to avoid when creating an eBook. I know all the things I don’t want to happen with my books and I know the things I do. I understand the points that people discuss on ePublishing fora, but judging from the responses, many people don’t.

And I do wonder – have they ever read an eBook?

 

_____________________________________________________

albh blog post

A series of short horror story anthologies
for those who like their horror served with a touch of humour.

Leave a Reply

