The Great Amazon Tag Debate

There was a lot of talk a few weeks back on the KDP boards about the demise of product tags (and to a lesser extent the mysterious disappearing and reappearing Like buttons). People were saying that this would have a disastrous effect on readers being able to find their books and, I have to say, I thought they were right.

Then, February became my best-selling month so far on KDP.

Now, I’m not talking any great sales figures here, but compared to previous months it was a significant increase and whether or not it will continue is anyone’s guess. So, what’s up?

There are several things that I can think of:

  • Tags had no effect on sales at all. This does seem unlikely, but Amazon is so secretive about its algorithms, you never know.
  • The keywords I uploaded with my books were better than those of other people. That could be true, but, once again, there’s no way of knowing the truth.
  • The amount of books I now have available is having an effect. I’m not convinced about that. I wouldn’t have thought the sales numbers were high enough yet.
  • Everything is totally random in the world of self-publishing and we’ll never know the answer. Yep, that’s the one.

Join me again for another cutting and insightful post on the world of an indie publisher!

_____________________________________________________

albh blog post

A series of short horror story anthologies
for those who like their horror served with a touch of humour.

One thought on “The Great Amazon Tag Debate

Leave a Reply

