The Gift of eBooks

So, here’s my beef. Why is it beyond Amazon’s capacity to devise a system whereby you can properly gift an actual eBook to a recipient? I know in some countries (is it just the States?) you can send someone a gift certificate for a particular book, but my understanding is that they are under no obligation to buy that book and can use if for something else. Elsewhere, we don’t even have that option – a standard gift certificate, for a specified amount of money, is all that is available.

This is madness, and so frustrating.

My family tend to get annoyed with me for asking for gift certificates all the time for birthdays and Christmases, but if I want to have eBooks as presents, from Amazon, that is my only option.  If other sites can do it, eg Smashwords, surely Amazon can.  Unfortunately, not all the books I want to read are available via Smashwords and the device I own is a Kindle, so I don’t have much choice.

Is anyone else frustrated with this?

Leave a Reply

