Progress Report: 27/01/2014 – 02/02/2014

Welcome to week four – week of steady progress..

***

Rag & Bones: Secrets

Starting word count: 43,307. Aim: to increase wordcount by 1,500 words each day, Monday to Friday.

  • Monday: 44,852
  • Tuesday: 46,398
  • Wednesday: 47,899
  • Thursday: 49,375
  • Friday:50,182

Goal almost achieved. Total wordcount: 6,875. Although I didn’t reach the extra wordcount I had set for myself, I did reach the target for the book. At this point I decided I should stop fiddling with the text and let it rest for a while. I know the wordcount will go up a little when I revise it, but I need to get a little distance from it before editing further.

Sci-fi Novel

Starting word count: 15,043. Aim: To increase wordcount by 500 words each day, Monday to Friday.

  • Monday: 15,572
  • Tuesday: 16,097
  • Wednesday: 16,615
  • Thursday: 17,206
  • Friday: 17,918

Total wordcount: 2,875. Goal achieved. This book will be my primary writing project for next week so the target will be between 1,500 and 2,000 words per day, Monday to Friday. I don’t want to push the wordcount too much with this yet as I’m still finding my way with this one.

Rag & Bones Shorts: 1941

Aim: To start writing this new short over the weekend.

  • Saturday: 2,381
  • Sunday: 4,413

Goal achieved. Good progress made (better than expected) and the story has, as they do, taken a completely different turn from how I was expecting it to go. Target for next week – 500 words per day, Monday to Friday and continue to work on it next weekend.

Reading

Aim: To monitor time spent reading over the week.

  • Monday: 3.75
  • Tuesday: 3.00
  • Wednesday: 3.00
  • Thursday: 2.00
  • Friday:5.00
  • Saturday: 4.75
  • Sunday: 4.75

Total hours: 26.25

***

Join me next Monday for another round-up of progress and if you’re also challenging yourself to a wordcount each week, let me know in the comments..

Leave a Reply

