Progress Report: 17/02/2014 – 23/02/2014

Welcome to week seven. I’m really pleased with the progress I’ve made this week, and I’ve worked on a couple of extra projects as well.

***

Rag & Bones: Secrets

Aim: To edit 5,000 words per day, Monday to Friday.

  • Monday: 5,199
  • Tuesday: 11,200
  • Wednesday: 16,544
  • Thursday: 21,878
  • Friday: 28,807

Goal achieved. Same goal for next week, which should take me through a whole edit.

Sci-fi Novel

Starting word count:39.003. Aim: To increase wordcount by 1,000 – 1,500 words each day, Monday to Friday.

  • Monday: 40,012
  • Tuesday: 41,026
  • Wednesday: 42,017
  • Thursday: 43,015
  • Friday: 43,999

Total wordcount: 4,996. Goal achieved. I’m going to reduce the count for next week as I’ve basically finished the first run through and I’ll be starting from the beginning again, so the target will be 500 – 1,000 words, Monday to Friday..

Rag & Bones Shorts: 1941

Aim: To edit during the weekend and to work on the cover. Goal achieved. Next week’s target is another weekend edit and to prepare for publishing.

Other writring

That other possible novel has also called on my time this week. I haven’t worked on it every day, but the word count has increased to 2,218.

I’ve also started working on a non-fiction short book (I publish a small amount of non-fiction under a pen name), which currently stands at 2,244 words.

There are no targets for these pieces. If I feel inspired, I will work on them.

Reading

Aim: To monitor time spent reading over the week.

  • Monday: 4.00
  • Tuesday: 4.25
  • Wednesday: 4.75
  • Thursday: 2.75
  • Friday: 3.25
  • Saturday: 3.00
  • Sunday: 0.50

Total hours: 22.50

***

Join me next Monday for another round-up of progress and if you’re also challenging yourself to a wordcount each week, let me know in the comments..

Leave a Reply

