Progress Report: 24/02/2014 – 02/03/2014

Welcome to week eight.

***

Rag & Bones: Secrets

Aim: To edit 5,000 words per day, Monday to Friday.

  • Monday: 34,395
  • Tuesday: 39,962
  • Wednesday: 45,677
  • Thursday: 53,315

Goal achieved. I actually finished this edit on Thursday, rather than Friday, as planned, and I didn’t feel like working on the Sci-fi novel afterwards, so I transferred the text into a paperback book format and also made a copy that I could read through on my Kindle. Next week, I will be doing a read-through on the Kindle at the same time as editing to the paperback version. I’m not going to set a word target per day, but just see how I go.

Sci-fi Novel

Starting word count:43,999. Aim: To increase wordcount by 500 – 1,000 words each day, Monday to Friday.

  • Monday: 44,563
  • Tuesday: 45,157
  • Wednesday: 45,501
  • Thursday: –
  • Friday: 3,369

Total wordcount: Well, I didn’t work on this every day as planned and I got to the point where I needed to start getting ruthless with the text. Therefore, I have started transferring the text one chapter at a time into a new document. As the totals above show, I have reached 3,369 in this new document. I am resetting the word counter on the progress meter to account for this. Next week I will continue to do this, but with no specific wordcount.

Rag & Bones Shorts: 1941

Aim: To edit and prepare for publishing.

Goal achieved. The document is now in Kindle format and another edit performed. The aim for next weekend is to prepare for Smashwords and to do one final edit.

Other writring

I have also written more for the other novel, which now stands at 3,442 words.

Reading

Aim: To monitor time spent reading over the week.

  • Monday: 1.75
  • Tuesday: 3.25
  • Wednesday: 2.5
  • Thursday: 2.5
  • Friday: 3.0
  • Saturday: 2.25
  • Sunday: 3.5

Total hours: 18.75

***

Join me next Monday for another round-up of progress and if you’re also challenging yourself to a wordcount each week, let me know in the comments..

Leave a Reply

