Reading Habits (4): Not in my Own Genre

A significant number of writers say, usually on their blogs or in forum posts, that:

(1) They don’t read (very much), and/or;

(2) They don’t read in their own genre.

I don’t understand this. The only way to learn what works and what doesn’t is to read what others have written and the only way to know what is acceptable in your own genre, is to read in that. Of course, this doesn’t mean that you only have to read in your own genre. I read many different types of books, as I’ve already mentioned in previous posts, and they all help me improve my own writing in some way. It does seem to me that people who don’t read and yet want/try to be a writer, are missing a trick, and, quite frankly, are doing themselves a disservice.

Leave a Reply

