Let’s Help Each Other

If you’re a Smashwords author published on Scribd., you’ll probably have received your free subscription by now. I’m just getting used to the format, but I’ve already read one book and am part way through another (both indie published).

I was thinking that this could be a great opportunity for indie authors to support each other, just be reading (which, of course, we all do, don’t we?). It isn’t like you’ll be taking a risk by picking a book by an indie author you don’t know, because if you don’t like it, there’s no cost in stopping reading.

I have decided that I will read at least one new indie author a month and if everyone with a free subscription could join in and do the same, that would be a big boost to all the, as yet, undiscovered authors out there.

So, if you would like me to consider one of your books published on Scribd, please leave the link to it (at Scribd.) in the comments below. I’m not going to guarantee I’ll read it, but you’re in with a chance. However, there are some rules (my preferences).

  1. No free books – that won’t benefit anyone, because I could download those from Smashwords itself.
  2. No erotica.
  3. No pure romance.
  4. Nothing with heavily described violence or gore.

Apart from that, I’m willing to give most things a go (but if it’s non-fiction, it would probably have to be about writing for me to want to read it). I will give all books I read a star rating, but don’t expect a five. A five, for me, has to be exceptional. You’re more likely to get a three or four (because if I liked the beginning enough to continue, it would have to be at least a three).

Here’s my page in case you wish to look up my books. Unfortunately, the Scribd. format makes all the covers look squashed (or maybe that’s my computer), and some of the Rag & Bones books still have their old covers (hopefully that will update over time).

Happy reading!

 

3 thoughts on “Let’s Help Each Other

  1. “I have decided that I will read at least one new indie author a month and if everyone with a free subscription could join in and do the same, that would be a big boost to all the, as yet, undiscovered authors out there.” –

    Love the idea, and appreciate the link / read offer, thank you! 😉

    Here goes,
    Eiffel Tower Pose on Family Yoga Day (Paris Shorts)

    Have picked “How to Market Hell” from yours to try out, thanks so much 🙂

Leave a Reply

