Progress Report: 21/07/2014 – 27/07/2014

Welcome to week twenty-nine.

Projects

This week was database updating again. Yay!

As expected, I’m not finished yet, but I am further than I thought. I finished entering Concealed on Friday and then I entered 1983 and 1941 Saturday, and 1985 and 1901 on Sunday. The shorts, for some reason, were much easier and quicker to enter. I think it’s probably because I don’t need to record so much detail about the minor characters, because they (probably) won’t ever appear again, whereas with the novels, virtually everyone will be in it more than once. So, only Secrets to go before I can start another round of editing for Kindred. I’ll enter Kindred into the database as I go along, and then it won’t be so much of a chore to do (I hope).

I’m really looking forward to being able to produce a few reports to help me edit (and in the future, create).

 

Reading

Aim: To monitor time spent reading over the week.

  • Monday: 0.75
  • Tuesday: 0.75
  • Wednesday: 1.25
  • Thursday: –
  • Friday: 2.25
  • Saturday: 2.50
  • Sunday: 1.50

Total hours: 9.00

I’ve started experimenting this week with my reading habits. How? you ask (or maybe you don’t!). I’m experimenting with walking on the treadmill while I read. Eek! I don’t have a fancy powered treadmill, but a magnetic one, so you’re always walking uphill, which is tougher, obviously. I’ve only been doing it a couple of days so far, and not for all of my reading time, but it’s supposed to be better for you to spend more of your time standing, so if my legs get tired from walking, I can stand still instead and have something to lean on if I want to. This may not last. We’ll see.

***

Join me next Monday for another round-up of progress and if you’re also challenging yourself to a wordcount each week, let me know in the comments..

Leave a Reply

