Progress Report: 04/08/2014 – 10/08/2014

Welcome to week thirty-one.

Rag & Bones – Kindred

I managed to get all the way through the book in six days (that’s roughly 11.5K per day), which was very satisfying. On Sunday, I checked on a couple of queries I’d marked up and also copied the book into the paperback format. Those of you who’ve been here a while will know that I do the paperback first, so that it always matches the eBook. Anyway, the words are there and ready to be read again – because it’s always good to do rounds of editing in different formats. This time round will likely be slower, though, because I intend to put the details of this book into the database as I go along. I don’t expect to get through it in less than 1.5 weeks, maybe more.

Rag & Bones Short Short

I did another round of editing on the very short story I mentioned last week. Should only need one more pass, I think.

Projects

As if that’s not enough, I started doing something else this week. Now that I have LibreOffice (must get on with those other database posts!), I have a proper drawing package. So, I started to draw out a proper map of Midbury (rather than the scribblings I have on a piece of paper beside me). There’s a long way to go, because I want to put as much detail in as possible for past, and future stories. When it’s finished, I might put it up here, as well as on my website.

Reading

Aim: To monitor time spent reading over the week. I’m going to write this down differently this week. I’m not going to add up all the amounts for each day, just over the week. Yes, I know I’m confusing it, but it’s less fiddling for me – and this is my blog! So, R is for normal reading, sitting down.

  • Monday: R 1hr 30m, T 30m, S 40m
  • Tuesday: R 45m, T 31m
  • Wednesday: T 24m
  • Thursday: R 1hr 10m, T 31m
  • Friday: R 40m, T 33m
  • Saturday: R 35m, T 35m
  • Sunday: R 1hr 45m

Total hours: 10hr 9m

***

Join me next Monday for another round-up of progress and if you’re also challenging yourself to a wordcount each week, let me know in the comments..

Leave a Reply

