Progress Report: 18/08/2014 – 24/08/2014

Welcome to week thirty-three.

I’m writing this on Friday evening, as this weekend’s the Bank Holiday and I don’t expect to have a lot of time for writing blog posts. I also don’t expect I’ll have much time for reading (and certainly no opportunity for doing that on the treadmill).

Projects

So, I’ve been in accounts nightmare for most of the week, but sorting things out in small amounts each day helped make it less frustrating. I thought I was further on with it than I was before I started. So, I’ve sorted out all my paperwork for last years accounts and my spreadsheet is finished, but I haven’t done my tax return on the website yet. I’ll do that next week, when I can look at it with fresh eyes.

I did, however, push on with sorting out the paperwork for this year. Apart from the Amazon payments, which involves downloading all the spreadsheets and faffing around formatting them so they’ll print in a readable format (that was part of my frustration with getting last year’s paperwork sorted), I’m pretty much up-to-date. I’ll do that in a couple of weeks, when I can also tidy up August’s incoming payments as well.

I am vowing now to spend one Sunday a month on the paperwork and I’m trusting you’ll hold me to it.

Anyway, in other admin news, I’ve done quite a bit of updating on my website and I feel happier with it now. There’s still one thing I want to do, which is on a page that’s not visible yet, but I’ll get around to that next week. I’ve also written the database posts for this blog, one of which should be up by the time this posts, and two posts for my other blog.

I’m sure I’ve done some other bits and pieces as well, but it’s all a blur now!

Oh, nearly forgot. As well as doing the treadmill reading, I’m also trying sitting on my fit ball whilst working on my computer. I don’t know why I hadn’t thought about it before, but I was listening to The Creative Penn podcast this last week and Joanna Penn mentioned she sat on one whilst working, and then it was mentioned again in The Rocking Self-Publishing podcast. I was already using it before the second time! It’s not something I could do at my desk, because that’s too high, but I can do it when I use the laptop downstairs. That’s because downstairs, I have one of those tables that are meant for using when you’re in bed. You know, the ones you can wheel underneath it. I had to adjust it up a bit to be able to get my legs underneath whilst sitting on the ball, but it works perfectly. I think it might take a bit of getting used to sitting on it for a long time, but an hour here and there is fine.

The thing about fit balls, if you didn’t know, is that balancing on them works your core. This means that just by sitting down, you’re working your muscles. Also, when you’re sitting on one, you tend to move about a bit, which means even more exercise. So much better than sitting still. Yay!

Because there are still a number of things I need/want to sort out, and because next week is a short week with the Bank Holiday, I’m designating it a mainly admin week as well. If I finish everything I have planned, I’ll start working on the Kindle version of Kindred.

Reading

Aim: To monitor time spent reading over the week.

I’m going to leave out my reading totals for Saturday and Sunday, as per the above. I don’t suppose it’ll make a lot of difference. I haven’t read as much as usual this week, because of all the other things I’ve been doing.

  • Monday: T 35m
  • Tuesday: T 25m, R 30m
  • Wednesday: R 65m
  • Thursday: T 26m
  • Friday: T 25m R 60m
  • Saturday:
  • Sunday:

Total hours: 4h 26m

***

Join me next Monday for another round-up of progress and if you’re also challenging yourself to a wordcount each week, let me know in the comments..

Leave a Reply

