Progress Report: 30/09/2014 – 05/10/2014

Welcome to week thirty-nine.

Here stands a soggy and windswept writer who, although it’s stormy outside, still took the dog for a walk. However, the walk was short, which means I’m here writing this at seven-thirty. Anyhow, let’s get on.

Rag & Bones 5

I have finished the first, first draft of the fifth book. For those who haven’t been here long, that means  bare-bones conversations and description-lacking mode. It stands at 39,437 words. The next two weeks will be spent fleshing it out to proper first draft mode, ready for its rest over NaNoWriMo month. Hopefully, I can add another 10-15K in that time bringing it to 10K off the final target. I’m not going to stick rigidly to that target, but as the fourth book is just over 72K, I think it’s reasonable.

Other Projects

Not much to tell on other things this week. I’m still doing my standing desk working, sometimes for as long as two hours (all in one chunk, once I’ve sat down, that’s pretty much it). This week I’ll have my admin Sunday, so that’ll be getting accounts and such like up-to-date. I’d also like to get a little more planning done for my NaNo novel. I’m not sure if I told you that I’ve got the basic story already set out, but I think I need to make it more detailed if I’m going to achieve finishing it in the month. I’d like to be able to reach higher than the 50K target.

Reading

Aim: To monitor time spent reading over the week.

  • Monday: R 85m
  • Tuesday: R 75m
  • Wednesday: R 75m
  • Thursday: R 130m
  • Friday: R 95m
  • Saturday: R 170m
  • Sunday: R 35m T 37m

Total hours: 13hr 22m

***

Join me next Monday for another round-up of progress and if you’re also challenging yourself to a wordcount each week, let me know in the comments..

Leave a Reply

