Progress Report: 06/10/2014 – 12/10/2014

Welcome to week forty.

Forty weeks I’ve been doing this. Doesn’t time fly? Isn’t Christmas close? Eek! Isn’t NaNoWriMo even closer? Double eek!

Rag & Bones 5

Editing of Book 5 is going well. I’m aiming for roughly ten pages per day (A4), and I’m on page 65, so that’s pretty good. Word count is now 45,498, so already on target for adding the 5-10K before the first draft is put to bed for NaNo. However, I haven’t added as much as I thought I might. For instance, I haven’t created any new scenes. As the page count is around 95 at the moment, I expect I’ll finish this round of edits before Friday. If I do, I’ll do another read through of the short that I started a few weeks back.

Other Projects

I’ve done quite a bit more planning for the NaNo novel this week, a large part of which involved downloading the NaNo trial version of Scrivener. It took me several hours to read through all the instructions for how to use it, and I was having a minor brain overload by the end of it, but I think I’ve got a handle on the basics now. I’m going to have to learn the short codes for changing fonts (ie headings, normal paras, block paras) or it’s going to drive me nuts having to use the menus all the time, but I think I like it. I’ve inputted all the scenes (so far) onto the corkboard and created separate documents for each one. I’ve even started to create documents for some of the characters and locations. I’m pretty sure I’ll pay for the full version after NaNo, especially as it’ll be 50% off if I complete the 50K words. At this stage, with R&B 5 finishing this week, I’ll be able to do the final round of R&B 4 the following week and have a whole week of NaNo prep afterwards.

Reading

Aim: To monitor time spent reading over the week.

  • Monday: R 90m
  • Tuesday: R 165m
  • Wednesday: R 110m
  • Thursday: R 135m
  • Friday: R 60m
  • Saturday: R 75m
  • Sunday: R 180m

Total hours: R 13hr 35m

***

Join me next Monday for another round-up of progress and if you’re also challenging yourself to a wordcount each week, let me know in the comments..

Leave a Reply

