Progress Report: 20/10/2014 – 26/10/2014

Welcome to week forty-two.

Rag & Bones 4: Kindred

This week was the final read-through before publication, which was achieved. I now have all three versions ready to go and will press the button at some point this week for the pre-order eBook files.

Other Projects

NaNoWriMo LogoOnce again, I spent some more time on the NaNo book. I’ve decided that I’m not going to go into much more detail about individual scenes until I start and then I’ll revise the next day’s scenes after I’ve finished the previous day’s count (if that makes sense). What I am going to do this week (well, five days of it) is to flesh out the ideas for books 2 and 3. I don’t mean going into individual scenes, but making sure that I know where this will be going so that I don’t have to go back and revise in that respect. I’ll also spend more time on the rules of the world, also so that I don’t have to go back and revise afterwards.

Of course, NaNo starts this coming Saturday, so what I’ll be doing from then on is pretty much set for the month – a minimum of 1,667 words per day. I expect some days to be up on the count and others to be down. I’m not setting myself an absolute target for the book. I hope for it to be 60K plus, but if that doesn’t work, at least in the first draft, I’m not going to worry. If I happen to get all the way through the first book, I might start the second, but the decision on that’s a long way off!

Reading

Aim: To monitor time spent reading over the week. I haven’t been treadmill reading for weeks now. I’m not sure why, but maybe it’s because I’m doing my 1.5 – 2 hours a day working standing up.

  • Monday: R 260m
  • Tuesday: R 180m
  • Wednesday: R 155m
  • Thursday: R 200m
  • Friday: R 235m
  • Saturday: R 230m
  • Sunday: R 265m

Total hours: R 25h 25m

***

Join me next Monday for another round-up of progress and if you’re also challenging yourself to a wordcount each week, let me know in the comments..

Leave a Reply

