Progress Report: 05/01/2015 – 11/01/2015

Welcome to week two.

A week of changed priorities.

NaNo Project

I started working on Book Three this week, and I did add about 3 or 4K words to the 22K total, but that’s where it ended. I ran out of steam on this project. When I thought about it, I realised I’d been working on it for two months solid, and therein was the problem. I needed a break from it. So, without procrastinating about, I switched to something else. See below.

Rag & Bones: Book Five

It was actually really good to start working on this book again. After more than two months of a break, it was completely fresh, and I enjoyed starting to edit it again.

I’m about half way through the book, so I expect to finish this edit by the end of the coming week. Then, I’m going to transfer it over to Scrivener, and make a dummy eBook version to have my Kindle Fire read it to me. I’m looking forward to that, because the reader is so much better than the one you get with Adobe Acrobat files (which is how I did it before).

The word count has gone up from 49K to over 53K, so I suspect it will be 60K, or very close, by the time I’ve finished.

Other Projects

I’ve been reading a book about deliberate practice this past week, which I’m finding quite inspiring, and I’m considering what I could do to implement this in my own work. You’ll probably see the book in the list below next week if you want to read about this process yourself.

I’m also working on the list of books I read last year to put up here, although it’s not as easy as I’d hoped, because Scribd. hasn’t retained everything I’ve read and some books have since been deleted from there, so there may be some missing that I don’t remember. I’m not publishing this yet, but it may be up before next week.

Reading

Aim: To monitor time spent reading over the week.

R = Normal reading, A = Audio book, T = Reading on the treadmill.

  • Monday: R 239m
  • Tuesday: R 258m, A 27m
  • Wednesday: R 200m, A 40m
  • Thursday: R 102m, A 165m
  • Friday: R 128m, A 103
  • Saturday: R 108m, A 189m
  • Sunday: R 145m, A 230

Total hours: 32hr 14m

Books Completed (this week)

The Pursuit of Perfection and How it Harms Writers by Kristine Kathryn Rusch
Drawing on the Power of Resonance in Writing by David Farland
Rides a Dread Legion by Raymond E Feist
Jimmy and the Crawler by Raymond E Feist
The Vampire Diaries: The Awakening by L J Smith (audio)
The Vampire Diaries: The Struggle by L J Smith (audio)

***

Join me next Monday for another round-up of progress and if you’re also challenging yourself to list your achievements each week, let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

