Progress Report: 12/01/2015 – 18/01/2015

Welcome to week three.

Week three! It’s well and truly 2015 now.

Rag & Bones: Book Five

This week I finished the edit of Book Five and the wordcount is now up to just over 60K, which is where I hoped it would be. A considerable number of those words were in the last few chapters. I knew they needed to be expanded somewhat, and that’s what happened.

I finished the edit on Saturday. On Sunday I transferred the file into Scrivener. It wasn’t difficult, but there was a lot more fiddling around with the file than I expected there to be. I managed to get it to split the file into documents, but I didn’t realise it wouldn’t recognise chapter breaks. My own fault really, the info I’d read said it would recognise particular breaks, and I didn’t put any of those at the chapters.

Anyway, I spent Sunday fiddling around with the file, adding labels for POVs and thinking about how I will use the features to help me – more for future books than this one, as it’s already written.

This coming week I’ll make a version I can transfer onto my Kindle Fire and let it read it to me. I’ll also work on the front and back matter so that I have a complete book. Then, all I’ve got to do is learn how to do a compile of the files that’s publishing platform ready.

Other Projects

I’ve decided that I’m going to up my reading of craft and marketing books, so you’ll see that reflected in the books read list. Most of these kinds of books are shorter, so the lists might look ridiculously long. Because I won’t have access to these later, I’ve created a notebook where I write down things I want to remember from each book. A lot of the things I know already, but there’s always something new in any book. It’s probably easier than referring back to a whole book anyway.

Also, I’ve now pressed the publish button on my 2014 reading list. It’s as complete as I can manage, but if I remember something else I read, I’ll add it later.

Reading

Aim: To monitor time spent reading over the week.

R = Normal reading, A = Audio book, T = Reading on the treadmill.

  • Monday: R 222m, A 143m
  • Tuesday: R 236m, A 91m
  • Wednesday: R 283m
  • Thursday: R 203m, A 154m
  • Friday: R 105m, A 267m
  • Saturday: A199m
  • Sunday: R 315m, A 100m

Total hours: 38hr 38m

Books Completed (this week)

Talent is Overrated: What really separates world-class performers from everybody else by Geoff Colvin
The Vampire Diaries: The Fury by L J Smith (audio)
Let’s Get Digital: How to get noticed and sell more books by David Gaughran
Partials by Dan Wells
No Plot, No Problem by Chris Baty
The Vampire Diaries: Dark Reunion by L J Smith (audio)
Reader Magnets: Get readers to come to you by Nick Stephenson

***

Join me next Monday for another round-up of progress and if you’re also challenging yourself to list your achievements each week, let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

