Progress Report: 09/02/2015 – 15/02/2015

Welcome to week seven.

Rag & Bones: Allies (Book Six)

This week I managed to finish the first, first draft of Book Six. By ‘first, first’, I mean it’s not yet a complete draft, but it’s the first outpouring from my brain that is disjointed and doesn’t yet flow. It is currently standing at 35,158 words. Mid-week I went back and made short summaries of each scene using the Scrivener corkboard and the next day went through it looking for areas where I needed to add scenes and maybe adjust the text. I found two places (yes, two) where I had repeated information – one I already knew when I was writing it that I’d have to adjust one or the other, but the other instance was where I had started the same scene twice in two different parts of the book. How I managed that, I don’t know, but I can sort it easily enough. Book Six is now resting before I plough on with the extra scenes.

Rag & Bones: Conflict (Book Seven)

Book Seven is off and running. It’s just over 7K words at the moment, which is more than I expected to have done by now, and already my sketchy plan for the plot has changed somewhat. Let’s face it, I’m really a pantser at heart and not a plotter! This week I will push on with this book and see how far I can get.

Other Projects

Nothing new.

Reading

Aim: To monitor time spent reading over the week.

R = Normal reading, A = Audio book, T = Reading on the treadmill.

  • Monday: R 309m, A 49m
  • Tuesday: R 316m, A 103m
  • Wednesday: R 196m
  • Thursday: R 273m
  • Friday: R 234m, A 55m
  • Saturday: R 283m
  • Sunday: R 295m, A 47m

Total hours: 25h 40m

Books Completed (this week)

Roast Dinosaur by Carl Steiger (short story)
Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
Changeling by Kristine Kathryn Rusch (short story)
Hearts by Kristine Kathryn Rusch (short story)
The Plot Whisperer by Martha Alderson
1,600 words an hour by Jim Driver and Jack Davies
Crescendo by Becca Fitzpatrick
Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick
Finale by Becca Fitzpatrick

***

Join me next Monday for another round-up of progress and if you’re also challenging yourself to list your achievements each week, let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

