Progress Report: 06/04/2015 – 12/04/2015

Welcome to week fifteen.

This was another (slightly) shorter week with the end of Easter, but quite productive.

Rag & Bones: Death (Book Five)

I finished revising Book Five this week and uploaded to Amazon and Smashwords. The conversion to Word for upload to Smashwords (from Scrivener) wasn’t as easy as I imagined it would be. I probably got some of the settings wrong when I was doing it, but it was no easier than completely reformatting in word would normally be. I think with the next upload, I’ll try converting to an epub and uploading that. It means there won’t be a mobi file (or other formats) available on Smashwords, but very few people buy directly from the site, so I don’t think that’ll be a problem.

Rag & Bones: Allies (Book Six)

I started the next round of revisions on Book Six. I’m already a fair way through (probably about a third), and the total is now just under 50K. I intend to continue with this over the coming week. If I finish (not really expecting to, but you never know), I’ll start on Book Seven.

Other Projects

The fantasy project stalled a little this week. I found it a little harder to get back into after the Easter break than the other books. It’s now at nearly 28K. If I have time, I’ll add more this week.

I’ve also had another idea for a book, and today (Sunday) I opened a Scrivener file for it and started creating a few index cards. It’s probably a standalone book, but I need to think about it quite a bit more before deciding on that.

I’m also considering some other box set type compilations for upload to Smashwords.

Reading

Aim: To monitor time spent reading over the week.

R = Normal reading, A = Audio book, T = Reading on the treadmill.

  • Monday: R 207m
  • Tuesday: R 271m
  • Wednesday: R 180m
  • Thursday: R 314m
  • Friday: R 269m
  • Saturday: R 244m
  • Sunday: R 204m

Total hours: 28h 9m

Books Completed (this week)

Paydown by Nick Stephenson (novella)
Planet Urth by Jennifer & Christopher Martucci
Grandmaster: A flash-fiction novella by Calum Kerr
City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare
The Funerals at Christmas by Dixon Barker (short story)
A Well-deserved Murder by Katherine John

***

Join me next Monday for another round-up of progress and if you’re also challenging yourself to list your achievements each week, let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

