Progress Report: 11/05/2015 – 17/05/2015

Welcome to week twenty.

This had been another successful week. I feel like I’ve achieved a fair bit, even if not all the tasks I set for myself have been completed.

Rag & Bones: Allies (Book Six) and Conflict (Book Seven)

Both these books are now up for pre-order on Amazon. I haven’t pushed the button to say they are final copies yet, I’ll do that when I’ve finished the ePub versions as well. It ended up being quite complicated, as I needed to copy links from publishing each one into the other book (if you see what I mean). So, I didn’t rush it. I completed one task each day.

I have converted both books into ePub versions, but I haven’t properly checked them yet. I did test one on epubcheck, and it passed without any errors at all, which I thought was amazing, but I need to go through them both on Adobe Digital Editions before going further. I intend to have them up on Smashwords by the end of the week (which I’m counting as Friday, as this is another Bank Holiday weekend coming up).

Nano Project (Book Two)

I’m going well on Book Two. I haven’t kept a note of exactly where I’ve got to, but I’m well into the story already. I haven’t got to any parts where I need to start adjusting the story yet. I expect that will happen this week. This will be my main project again, but as there are only five proper working days, I’m not sure how far I’ll get.

Fantasy Book 1

I did nothing on this book this week. I’m not going to try doing more this coming week. I’ll resume the week after when all the formatting, etc, is out of the way.

Fantasy Book 2

I didn’t do anything on this book either this week, but that was mainly because of the Other Projects below. I may not get any done this week either, considering the shorter week.

Other Projects

I finished my wattpad R&B story this week. I edited and I completed another round with my Kindle reading it out. The first part is now up on wattpad (actually, by the time this comes out, the second part will probably be up as well), so we’ll see how that goes. I think I’ve worked out my way around the site now. The story upload is a little basic. There’s no text formatting, other than bold and italic. So that means no indented paragraphs and putting line spaces between the paragraphs. Personally, I’m not keen on this format for reading, because on a small tablet screen, it means there are only a few lines showing before I have to turn the page (I do have the text larger – I’m old you know!). But there’s not a lot I can do about that.

Reading

Aim: To monitor time spent reading over the week.

R = Normal reading, A = Audio book, T = Reading on the treadmill.

  • Monday: R 215m
  • Tuesday: R 264m
  • Wednesday: R 204m
  • Thursday: R 149m
  • Friday: R 120m
  • Saturday: R 162m
  • Sunday: R 394m

Total hours: 25h 8m

Books Completed (this week)

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
Spaceships in the Desert by Kristine Kathryn Rusch (short story)
Dark Matter Myopia by Terry Madden (short story)
Defender (Sanctuary Series) by Robert J Crane (Quest Anthology)
Dracula by Bram Stoker

***

Join me next Monday for another round-up of progress and if you’re also challenging yourself to list your achievements each week, let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

