Progress Report: 15/06/2015 – 21/06/2015

Welcome to week twenty-five.

Well, we’ve passed the longest day. It’s all downhill from here!

Nano Project (Books One & Two)

Much to my surprise, I finished the first edit of Book Two on Monday. This meant that I could do all the inconsistency checks on Tuesday and start the next edit of Book Two, which I have also finished. Trouble is, I now have loads of consistency checking to do (again!). This should be the last round of that, though. It may take a couple of days to do, but then I’ll start the Kindle read out loud of Book One.

Fantasy Book 1

I did nothing on this book this week.

Fantasy Book 2

I did nothing on this book this week.

Other Projects

I’ve had notification that the short story I submitted has got through to the second round of consideration, which I’m extremely pleased about. At least, if it doesn’t get through to publication, I know I have a story I can try elsewhere.

I spent some time on Sunday tweaking things on my website. It’s surprising how long even small things can take. Oh, well.

With regards to reading, I’ve been doing a lot of listening to books with my Kindle reading them out at 2x speed. It’s meant I’ve been able to get a lot of stuff done around the house, which I would otherwise have put off. It’s also helped me to get through all those books that have been sitting on my Kindle for over a year. Sometimes, I’ve even listened at 3x. It takes a bit of getting used to, and I wouldn’t do it for long periods, but if the book is well written, it’s easy enough to understand. You do have to concentrate, though. It also makes 2x seem slow if you play it afterwards!

This coming week, as well as doing the read out loud already mentioned, I’m going to try writing some short stories. Maybe not one a day, but I should be able to manage one every couple of days, as long as they’re not too long.

Reading

Aim: To monitor time spent reading over the week.

R = Normal reading, A = Audio book, T = Reading on the treadmill.

  • Monday: R 265m
  • Tuesday: R 284m
  • Wednesday: R 189m
  • Thursday: R 225m
  • Friday: R 88m
  • Saturday: R 177m
  • Sunday: R 220m

Total hours: 23h 48m

Books Completed (this week)

Sign of the Times by Susan Buchanan
The Last Resort by William Gordon
Outview (The Inner Movement) by Brandt Legg
The Island of Doctor Moreau by H G Wells
The Invisible Man by H G Wells
Songbirds by Kristine Kathryn Rusch (short story)

***

Join me next Monday for another round-up of progress and if you’re also challenging yourself to list your achievements each week, let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

