Progress Report: 27/07/2015 – 02/08/2015

Welcome to week thirty-one.

Fantasy Book 1

I did nothing on this book this week.

Fantasy Book 2

Last week I said I wanted to try for 10-15K on this book. I wrote 15,812 words, so goal achieved. The first few days I was reaching around 3K, but on Friday I had another brain blockage on quite how to write the last few chapters. I decided to go to the end and work back, as I’ve done before. I still achieved just under 2K that day, and later in the afternoon, after resting my brain for a while, I planned out the remaining scenes, which meant Saturday was much easier and I finished the first draft of the story.

I’m really happy with it so far and I can’t wait to start on it again tomorrow (Monday). I know I’ll need to add in quite a bit of detail, so I expect the word count to rise considerably (currenlty 50,563). If I can add 10K words this coming week, I’ll be happy.

Other Projects

I spent Sunday as my first official admin day, after resolving to start that properly again last week. I’m completely up-to-date. Hurrah!

The short story I needed to send off this week got sent. The other story from a few weeks back, where I’d got to the final round, that one got rejected, unfortunately. I’m going to try to find somewhere else to send it, but that might take a little while.

The other two short stories have had another edit and read out loud on the Kindle. I might actually get round to sending them out this coming week.

Reading

Aim: To monitor time spent reading over the week.

  • Monday: 133m
  • Tuesday: 201m
  • Wednesday: 156m
  • Thursday: 255m
  • Friday: 218m
  • Saturday: 348m
  • Sunday: 255m

Total hours: 26h 6m

Books Completed (this week)

The Red Pyramid: Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan
The Art of Creating Thinking by John Adair
When a Child is Born by Jodi Taylor (short story)
Results by Kristine Kathryn Rusch (short story)
The Girl in the Box Series, Books 1-3 by Robert J Crane

***

Join me next Monday for another round-up of progress and if you’re also challenging yourself to list your achievements each week, let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

