Progress Report: 31/08/2015 – 06/09/2015

Welcome to week thirty-six.

Zombie Novella

I finished another run-through on this novella, adding a couple of scenes, and it’s now at around 16.5K. I’m leaving this for another week before I go back to it.

Other Projects

I had intended to do more on short stories this week. I did work out another, better ending to one of the stories I’d already written, but on looking at the place I was going to submit it to, I found they’ve reduced what they’re paying, so I’m not sure I’m going to submit it now. Although, what else I’d use if for, I don’t know. Anyway, I’ve got a few weeks to decide.

I didn’t write any new stories. I decided instead to work on some non-fiction that I’ve been meaning to do (which I write under a pen name), and managed a complete first draft of one book (around 12K). Today, Sunday, I’ve had a nightmare trying to get the formatting right in Scrivener. I was almost at the point of giving up and transferring it to Microsoft Word, but I think I’m there now. It’s actually quite difficult to write non-fiction if you use the title function to take the name of the document, rather than typing out the title in the document (if you use Scrivener, you’ll know what I mean). So, I’ve now put all the sub-titles into the documents. It means I need to do quite a bit of ‘preserve formatting’, but that’s okay. I’d rather have a Scrivener document that I can easily make into mobi and ePub versions, and as this one won’t be a print book, that works out fine. Anyway, I’m going to continue working on this book next week, and possibly start the second one I wmt to do.

Reading

Aim: To monitor time spent reading over the week.

  • Monday: 114m
  • Tuesday: 176m
  • Wednesday: 154m
  • Thursday: 211m
  • Friday: 223m
  • Saturday: 223m
  • Sunday: 115m

Total hours: 20h 16m

Books Completed (this week)

Want to Know a Secret? by Sue Moorcroft
Vampire Academy: Blood Promise by Richelle Mead
Cat Nap by Kristine Kathryn Rusch (short story)
Superfreakonomics by Steven D Levitt and Stephen J Dubner

***

Join me next Monday for another round-up of progress and if you’re also challenging yourself to list your achievements each week, let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

