Progress Report: 14/09/2015 – 20/09/2015

Welcome to week thirty-eight.

Zombie Novella

I managed three passes on this book. Yes, three. One normal edit on the screen. One read through on my basic Kindle. One read out loud on my Kindle Fire. Of course, this was only possible because it’s a novella. It now stands at 20K words, which is where I wanted it to be when I started. I’ve chosen a cover picture I like, but I want to let the book rest a little longer again before I do a final pass. I think I finished it on Thursday this past week, so if I leave it till midweek, that’ll be a whole week again. I can’t leave it any longer, as I want to get it out before the end of the month. I’m not going to do a paperback with this one. I don’t think it’s worth the effort for something so short, and the cost will be disproportionately high with using POD.

Other Projects

I did a little more on my non-fiction. I’ll be continuing this in the coming week.

I also wrote another couple of short stores. They should rightly be called flash fiction, because they’re both under 1K words. They’re both for competitions and need to be submitted before the end of the month, so I’ll be finalising them during the coming week. I’ve joined a couple of short story Facebook groups, which is where I found out about these competitions. Hopefully, there will be more over the coming months.

The other thing I’ve been doing over the last couple of weeks is trying to increase the amount of time I spend standing at my desk. I was regularly doing 2-2.5 hours per day before, but now I’ve increased it to about 4 hours, and I’ve included Saturday in the days I do it. Before I allowed myself to sit at the weekends. I’m still sitting on Sundays, because I do more paperwork then and it’s difficult to do that while standing, because you have to keep bending down to look at things. Anyway, going well so far.

Reading

Aim: To monitor time spent reading over the week.

  • Monday: 187m
  • Tuesday: 153m
  • Wednesday: 169m
  • Thursday: 147m
  • Friday: 222m
  • Saturday: 117m
  • Sunday: 211m

Total hours: 18h 46m

Books Completed (this week)

The Street Lawyer by John Grisham
Succubus Blues by Richelle Mead
The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne
Geeks Bearing Gifts by Kristine Grayson (short story)
Mr Spaceship by Philip K Dick (short story)

***

Join me next Monday for another round-up of progress and if you’re also challenging yourself to list your achievements each week, let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

