Progress Report: 28/09/2015 – 04/10/2015

Welcome to week forty.

Zombie Novella

… is now published, but not without a lot of work. Why? Well, because I decided to go direct with Kobo and to use Draft2Digital for my main distribution. So, two new systems to learn and paperwork to fill out. Aaah! Not that it’s difficult, but my brain was a little frazzled at the end of it. Both interfaces are easy to use, and I love the fact that D2D sends you an email with a link to your published book on the individual retailer sites. So easy. However, I did also discover that the W-8 BEN form I was using was an old one and had to fill out a new one! I also had to put the book up at Smashwords, because they sell direct, and because there are retailers (if that’s the right word) that D2D don’t deal with (yet?), mainly libraries. So, I had to have 4 slightly different versions of the document, which meant I also had to learn how to use collections in Scrivener properly – I’d never bothered before with only 2 versions, and that caused more frustrating moments where I couldn’t see the wood for the trees. But it’s all done now. And I’ll be better prepared next time.

Classroom Novel

I spent a couple of days working out the first few chapters of this book and then I started writing. I’m already over 10K and am now at the stage where I will prepare the next’s days chapter summaries before I finish working the previous day, if you get what I mean. It’s going well so far.

Other Projects

I submitted all the short stories I needed to this week (I think it was 3). I still have a couple to go, one by the end of this month. No new short stories were written.

The research project I mentioned last week is going well, and I think I’ve changed my mind about what I’m going to do for NaNoWriMo. I’m going to start this novel (series). That gives me nearly a month to finish (or progress) my research and to plan the first book (and to finish the one I’m writing now).

Reading

Aim: To monitor time spent reading over the week.

  • Monday: 190m
  • Tuesday: 183m
  • Wednesday: 202m
  • Thursday: 162m
  • Friday: 192m
  • Saturday: 217m
  • Sunday: 290m

Total hours: 23h 56m

Books Completed (this week)

Feyland: The Dark Realm (Future Tense Box Set) by Anthea Sharp
Eragon by Christopher Paulini
Tales from the Norse Legends (Audio) read by Benjamin Soames
Say Hello to My Little Friend by Kristine Kathryn Rusch (short story)

***

Join me next Monday for another round-up of progress and if you’re also challenging yourself to list your achievements each week, let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

