Progress Report: 05/10/2015 – 11/10/2015

Welcome to week forty-one.

Classroom Novel

The writing of this novel has gone well over the past week. I’ve averaged 2.5-3K per day (minus today, Sunday, when I won’t be writing on this project). The total wordcount is now a shade under 27.5K. I’ve been continuing with preparing the next day’s writing the day before routine. Even so, I’ve added in extra scenes that I felt were necessary as I went along. I don’t think, so far, that I’ll have many extra scenes to add to this one, but I will, as usual, need to expand on description, etc, when I do the second pass. Anyway, hoping to continue at the same rate until the first draft is finished, which I expect to happen during the coming week. If I do finish, I’ll start again from the beginning on the second pass.

Other Projects

I haven’t submitted any more short stories this week, but I have written another (very short) story for a competition. I might submit some of these today (Sunday) if I have the time, but otherwise, I’ll ‘get rid’ of them all during the coming week. I don’t want any of these hanging over me while NaNoWriMo is going on. (Update: I sent out two, 1 to go!)

The research is continuing and combining a lot with my reading list, so the NaNo novel(s) should be planned out (as much as I ever do) by the time November comes around.

During the coming week, Rifter comes out of KDP select, so I’ll be distributing that wide. Hopefully, second time around, the process with be a little smoother with using Kobo and D2D.

Reading

Aim: To monitor time spent reading over the week.

  • Monday: 214m
  • Tuesday: 238m
  • Wednesday: 175m
  • Thursday: 207m
  • Friday: 337m
  • Saturday: 248m
  • Sunday: 276m

Total hours: 28h 13m

Books Completed (this week)

The Children of Odin: The Book of Northern Myths by Padraic Colum
The Amazing Quizmo by Kristine Kathryn Rusch (short story)
Twin Souls: Nevermore (Book One) by K A Pope (Paranormal 13 box set)
Internal Dialogue (Busy Writer’s Guides Book 7) by Marcy Kennedy
The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho
The Younger Edda by Snorri Sturlson
The Edda, Volume 1 by L Winifred Faraday
The Edda, Volume 2 by L Winifred Faraday

***

Join me next Monday for another round-up of progress and if you’re also challenging yourself to list your achievements each week, let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

